Civil Jurisdiction

Civil matters cover disputes between individuals, and between individuals and the State, that are not criminal matters. The amount claimed in a civil matter is what determines which level of Court may hear the matter.

There are nine types of civil applications:

  1. Plaint
  2. Miscellaneous
  3. Originating application
  4. Divorce
  5. Probate
  6. Domestic proceedings
  7. Adoption
  8. Judgement summons
  9. Garnishee summons

Other applications:

  • Inquest
  • JP appeal
  • Court of Appeal
  • Privy Council application