PUBLIC NOTICE: Public Counter Service Hours from March 2022

Effective Monday 7th March 2022, due to staff capacity constraints and implementation of covid19 protocols, the Ministry of Justice will be reducing the Rarotonga office hours of when its service counters are open to the public to 10am to 2pm, unless by appointment. Members of the public are encouraged to call ahead on (682) 29410 or  email to schedule an appointment. Make an Appointment

This change will only impact services provided over the counter; court schedules will continue to operate as normal.


There are 5 Districts on Rarotonga:

  1. Avarua
  2. Matavera
  3. Ngatangiia
  4. Takitumu*
  5. Arorangi

Avarua District is from Tapere Pokoinu to Tapere Tupapa. Matvera District is from Tapere Titama to Tapere Pouara. Ngatangiia District is from Tapere Turangi to Tapere Maii. Takitumu District is from Tapere Tikioki to TapereVaimaanga. Arorangi District is from Tapere Rutaki to Tapere Pokoinu-i-raro.



*Note: Takitumu is popularly known as Titikaveka

According to official survey documents dating back to 1913 by the first surveyor of Rarotonga H.M. Connal, Titikaveka is a Tapere of Takitumu.

Ron Crocombe's Thesis Cultural Map 1961 suggests, there were once 3 Districts on Rarotonga. Currently there are no validating details for this map


Other Topics

Currently, Rarotonga does not have street addresses

Users are encouraged to refer to the Official Map of Rarotonga for updates on Names and Boundaries

Ministry of Justice objective: delivering correct information

Any questions, please contact the Ministry of Justice, Rarotonga, Cook Islands


 First Land Surveyor Cook Islands


Electoral Map, Rarotonga

rarotonga electoral map thumb


 Ron Crocombe Cultural Map of Rarotonga