Ron Crocombe's Cultural Map below, suggests there were once 3 Districts on Rarotongal. They are Avarua District, Takitumu District and Arorangi District

Apart from the initials J.H. bottom right corner, there are no dates or additional sources for validating what appears to be a cultural and soil-category map

This is not an offical map of Rarotonga

Updates would be posted as they become available

Source: Ron Crocombe Thesis 1961: Land Tenure in the Cook Islands



rarotonga electoral map

According to the Constitution Amendment ACT 1980-81, 1991 and Electoral Amendment ACT 1986-87, there are 10 constituencies on Rarotonga.

The  names of the constituencies in each District are as follows:

  • Avarua: Nikao-Panama, Avatiu-Ruatonga, Takuvaine-Tutakimoa, Tupapa-Maraerenga
  • Mavavera: Matavera
  • Ngatangiia: Ngatangiia
  • Takitumu: Titikaveka
  • Arorangi: Ruaau, Akaoa, Muri-Enua




There are 5 Districts on Rarotonga:

  1. Avarua
  2. Matavera
  3. Ngatangiia
  4. Takitumu*
  5. Arorangi

Avarua District is from Tapere Pokoinu to Tapere Tupapa. Matvera District is from Tapere Titama to Tapere Pouara. Ngatangiia District is from Tapere Turangi to Tapere Maii. Takitumu District is from Tapere Tikioki to TapereVaimaanga. Arorangi District is from Tapere Rutaki to Tapere Pokoinu-i-raro.



*Note: Takitumu is popularly known as Titikaveka

According to official survey documents dating back to 1913 by the first surveyor of Rarotonga H.M. Connal, Titikaveka is a Tapere of Takitumu.

Ron Crocombe's Thesis Cultural Map 1961 suggests, there were once 3 Districts on Rarotonga. Currently there are no validating details for this map


Other Topics

Currently, Rarotonga does not have street addresses

Users are encouraged to refer to the Official Map of Rarotonga for updates on Names and Boundaries

Ministry of Justice objective: delivering correct information

Any questions, please contact the Ministry of Justice, Rarotonga, Cook Islands


 First Land Surveyor Cook Islands


Electoral Map, Rarotonga

rarotonga electoral map thumb


 Ron Crocombe Cultural Map of Rarotonga